Ava & Jack | Central Florida Children and Family Photographer

Disclaimer No. 1: This is a long post, so if you check out my blog for just the photos…keep scrolling to see the cute kiddos.  🙂

I love this time of year – I really do!  For me October is like a kick off to cooler weather, all things pumpkin, it includes the anticipation of spending valuable time with the people I love over the upcoming months and of course the excitement of seeing clients I haven’t seen in a while. 

Last year I didn’t know what I was stepping into.  October rolled around and I was completely blindsided when clients contacted me looking for holiday sessions. 

Disclaimer No. 2: October – December of last year was when my business changed for the best!  It’s when I realized that people other than my friends displayed my photos in their home (not going to lie this was a big deal for me).  It’s when I realized that new clients were calling me, people I didn’t even know.  It’s when I began to realize that editing after a long day at my “full time job”…while listening to whatever Pandora station I enjoyed at the moment…could be therapeutic.    
 
But with that being said, I booked 18 FULL client sessions between October 1st and December 31st of 2010.  This might not seem like a lot to a normal person who is thinking “those sessions spanned over three months,” but keep in mind I only photograph on the weekends.  And note there were only 13 weekends.  Weekends which happened to include all major holidays that fell between October, November and December.  And keep in mind, that my work isn’t complete until clients receive an edited CD of images. 

It was pure insanity and I learned a valuable lesson.  I decided that not getting my Christmas tree up and decorated the way I like would not be an option this year.  I decided that spending the day after Thanksgiving at my parents house editing was also out of the question.  I also decided this year would be different. 

I can’t tell you how thrilled I was when this momma emailed me in JULY to book for the holidays!!  THRILLED!!!  Not only was she booking early, she knew exactly what type of session she wanted.  They picked the place and the rest became a fun afternoon of photography, pumpkins and playing.  It was exciting to see how much Jack had grown up over the past year and fun to capture Ava being the big sister.  F & L it was great seeing you guys again and thank you for allowing me to capture you family this year!  I hope you guys enjoy the photos and I look forward to next time – J



Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

